Summer’s Blackened Mahi

Today was incredible. Let me start by saying that watching the sunrise was spectacular on my beach and it made my morning coffee that much better. By 9:30 am I saw the first pod of dolphins. By 10:30 a manatee approached me at low tide, again. They must really like me because its happened frequently to me. By 4 we returned back to the beach and saw a huge Manta Ray, 2 enormous Parrot Fishes and 2 enormous Queen Angelfish. The colors are breathtaking on these 2 species. And for some reason I particularly like the parrot fishes buck teeth. They look so humorous and so beautiful both simultaneously. Parrot fish bang those buck teeth into the coral and eat the polyps inside spitting out the coral particles. It is what makes sand here in south florida. Then I made dinner and I would like to share my recipe for fresh caught blackened Mahi here:

Lightly coat the Mahi in olive oil, a pinch of sea salt and fresh ground black pepper and a few pinches, or to your specific taste, of Indian curry. Grate some fresh ginger root onto the fish and crush and finely mince some fresh mint. Mine grows outside my kitchen door. Thoroughly toss the fish into this mixture and let this sit for a while.

In a cast iron skillet heat about 1/8 cup of olive oil and 2 pats of sweet butter. I clarify the butter first, but it’s not necessary. While your pan heats up, start preparing your sides.

I pared the fish with minted baby peas, which I add a teaspoon of sugar to and spanish rice and cornbread with creamed corn mixed in with gruyere cheese melted on top. You can use Jalapeno Jack cheese as well. I also made a fresh mango, (from off my tree) and ginger mint sauce in the blender to spoon on the fish.

Once the pan is piping hot, at about 3/4 to full on flame, place the Mahi into the skillet and let it sizzle up for about 3 minutes. Gently turn it and repeat the blackening on the opposite side. Voila! A meal fit for kings and queens and better than any trendy restaurant could possibly serve up.

Bon Apetit!

Hi there! Thanks for your input!

